The American Society of Cinematographers

Loyalty • Progress • Artistry

ASC Master Class

Learn Cinematography from the Best

The ASC Master Class is an intensive five-day seminar taught in Los Angeles by some of the best cinematographers in the world.

Designed for cinematographers with an intermediate-to-advanced skill set, the ASC Master Class incorporates practical, hands-on demonstrations of lighting and camera techniques with essential instruction in current workflow practices and informed analysis of feature films that are relevant to the coursework.

Some of the curriculum varies, depending on the faculty’s individual areas of expertise. Specialized instruction might cover such subjects as commercial cinematography or greenscreen cinematography, for example.

Instruction takes place at the ASC Clubhouse and at nearby production and postproduction facilities. All necessary equipment is provided.

The ASC Master Class is offered on a quarterly basis, and enrollment in each session is limited to 24. Applicants must submit a current résumé in order to be considered.

Tuition: $2,999*

*Includes breakfast and lunch daily, transportation to off-site instructional venues, a wrap party with ASC members, a hardcover edition of the American Cinematographer Manual (10th Ed.) and a 1-year subscription to Friends of the ASC.

Read More:


Enroll Now

Program Adviser:

Stephen H. Burum, ASC

With credits that include The Untouchables, Body Double, Mission: Impossible, The Outsiders, Rumble Fish and The War of the Roses, Stephen H. Burum is one of the ASC’s most accomplished members. He won an ASC Award and received an Academy Award nomination for Hoffa, and he was the recipient of the 2007 ASC Lifetime Achievement Award. He edited the ninth edition of the American Cinematographer Manual and authored its student supplement, Selected Tables, Charts and Formulas for the Student Cinematographer, which is currently in its third edition.

ASC Faculty:

  • John Bailey, ASC
  • Affonso Beato, ASC, ABC
  • Dion Beebe, ASC, ACS
  • Gabriel Beristain, ASC, BSC
  • Bill Bennett, ASC
  • Don Burgess, ASC
  • Stephen H. Burum, ASC
  • Paul Cameron, ASC
  • Russell Carpenter, ASC
  • Curtis Clark, ASC
  • Richard Crudo, ASC
  • Dean Cundey, ASC
  • Caleb Deschanel, ASC
  • Richard Edlund, ASC
  • Eagle Egilsson, ASC
  • Robert Elswit, ASC
  • Anna J. Foerster, ASC
  • Steven Gainer, ASC
  • Stephen Goldblatt, ASC, BSC
  • Rodrigo Prieto, ASC, AMC
  • Darius Khondji, ASC, AFC
  • Matthew Leonetti, ASC
  • Matty Libatique, ASC
  • Karl Walter Lindenlaub, ASC, BVK
  • Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC
  • Claudio Miranda, ASC
  • Kramer Morgenthau, ASC
  • M. David Mullen, ASC
  • Cynthia Pusheck, ASC
  • Nancy Schreiber, ASC
  • John Schwartzman, ASC
  • Dean Semler, ASC, ACS
  • Dante Spinotti, ASC, AIC
  • Bill Taylor, ASC
  • John Toll, ASC
  • Theo van de Sande, ASC
  • Kees van Oostrum, ASC
  • Mandy Walker, ASC, ACS
  • Dariusz Wolski, ASC


The ASC Clubhouse:

  • Clubhouse_01
  • Clubhouse_02
  • Clubhouse_04
  • Clubhouse_03
  • Clubhouse_05
  • Clubhouse_07
Clubhouse_011 Clubhouse_022 Clubhouse_043 Clubhouse_034 Clubhouse_055 Clubhouse_076


Enrollment is limited. Apply now to save your seat!

Enroll Now